Two Swedish cities are among the twelve European cities and regions announced as pilots by the European Commission’s Circular Cities and Regions Initiative (CCRI).

After over 100 applications, the initiative has chosen 12 pilots and 25 fellows. Participating means that the cities and regions will work closely with the CCRI Coordination and Support Office and with each other to lead Europe’s circular economy transition.

Experiences and learning processes from the participating cities and regions will contribute to the CCRI’s knowledge base for which the website is an important hub. There you also can read more about the initiative’s pilots and fellows.

The pilots will showcase the circular potential of their front-running ecosystems. They are, in all, the following cities and regions:

  • Gothenburg (city, Sweden)
  • Uppsala (city, Sweden)
  • Asker (city, Norway)
  • Capannori (city, Italy)
  • Castilla y Leon (region, Spain)
  • Flanders (region, Belgium)
  • Guimarães (city, Portugal)
  • Helsinki-Uusimaa (region, Finland)
  • Munich (city, Germany)
  • Podravje-Maribor (region, Slovenia)
  • Roubaix (city, France)
  • Tampere Region (region, Finland)

Alongside these pilots 25 cities, regions and territorial clusters are participating as fellows and will improve their circular economy starting positions by learning from the CCRI network.

My Visit Plan Favorite star